Quick answer
Do not treat “the Jetour G700 can plug into a three-pin socket” as proof that an ordinary household outlet is suitable for unattended daily charging. The safer default in Dubai is a properly installed Mode 3 AC EVSE on a dedicated, assessed circuit, with the protection required by current DEWA rules. A portable cable should be used only if the UAE vehicle documents and the exact cable instructions permit that supply, and a qualified electrician has checked the specific outlet and circuit.
Jetour UAE identifies the G700 as a plug-in hybrid, but the public model page reviewed for this guide does not state the exact AC input limit, confirm a supplied 13 A portable EVSE, or approve daily charging from a household outlet. Those points remain vehicle-, trim-, cable- and delivery-package-specific until the UAE dealer supplies them in writing.
What is verified, and what is still unknown
| Question | Verified today | What you still need |
|---|---|---|
| Is the UAE G700 rechargeable? | Jetour UAE describes it as a plug-in hybrid. | The exact VIN, trim, inlet and AC charging limit on the order or delivery file. |
| Does the public UAE page approve a three-pin outlet? | No such approval was found in the reviewed public model page. | The UAE owner manual and the exact portable EVSE label/instructions. |
| What does DEWA specify for installed AC EVSE? | Mode 3, an IEC 62196-2 Type 2 connection, overcurrent protection and a 30 mA auto-recovery class A RCD appear in the current technical rules. | A site-specific design and approval path from a qualified electrical contractor. |
| Can an extension lead be used? | DEWA warns that Mode 1 and 2 cables with extension cords create overheating, resistance and electrical-fault risks and discourages their use. | No adapter, extension reel or multi-plug assumption; follow the exact approved equipment instructions. |
| Is the existing outlet safe? | A photo or outlet shape cannot prove circuit condition. | Inspection of the outlet, terminals, cable size, earthing, protection, shared loads and sustained charging current. |
What the current DEWA rules actually support
The DEWA EV Charging Technical Regulations give an evidence-backed baseline for installed EV supply equipment: Mode 3 AC, Type 2, overcurrent protection and a 30 mA class A RCD. The same document explains that extension cables can add resistance, heat and fault risk. It also separates public equipment from private restricted-use equipment, so this page does not convert a public-charger connector rule into a claim about every G700 cable.
DEWA’s current regulatory framework covers charging infrastructure and licensed public operators. A private home installation still needs the correct building, supply and contractor route. The DEWA consultant and contractor listing is a place to identify registered electrical contractors; it is not an endorsement of their workmanship.
If a portable three-pin cable is supplied
A supplied cable is evidence about the cable, not automatic approval of every wall socket. Before relying on it for daily charging, match all of the following: the G700 manual permits the mode; the cable label states its input voltage and current; the plug matches the UAE delivery equipment without an adapter; the dealer confirms the exact VIN/trim and warranty treatment; and an electrician accepts the specific circuit for the intended continuous load.
| Situation | Decision | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| No UAE manual or cable label available | Do not plan daily three-pin charging yet. | The current, control and protection assumptions are unverified. |
| Portable EVSE expressly permitted, but outlet/circuit not inspected | Pause until the electrical check is complete. | A good cable cannot repair loose contacts, weak terminals or a shared circuit. |
| Extension lead, travel adapter or multi-plug required | Do not use that arrangement for the plan. | Each extra connection adds resistance and heat; DEWA specifically warns about extension cords. |
| Dedicated Mode 3 wallbox and written approval path confirmed | Use the documented installed solution. | It gives defined control, protection and installation evidence. |
| Plug, socket or cable becomes warm, loose, discoloured or smells abnormal | Stop charging and isolate safely; obtain an inspection. | These are fault indicators, not normal evidence of “slow charging.” |
Questions to put in writing before delivery
- What is the exact UAE VIN, trim, charge inlet and maximum AC input?
- Is a portable EVSE included? Record its model, rated input, plug, output current and protection.
- Does the UAE owner manual permit routine use from a household outlet, or describe the cable only as occasional/emergency equipment?
- Does using a non-dealer circuit or third-party EVSE change any vehicle or charging-system warranty condition?
- Which Mode 3 wallbox and cable are approved, and what site survey, building approval or DEWA step applies?
- What should the owner do if charging stops, the connector will not release, or the car reports an isolation/charging fault?
Electrician and site-survey checklist
The electrician needs to inspect the actual supply, not only quote a charger from a photograph. Ask for a written record of the source meter, available capacity, circuit route, conductor and protective-device suitability, earthing, RCD/overcurrent coordination, outlet condition, isolation point and commissioning test. In an apartment or shared parking area, obtain the owner/building requirements and decision route before paying for equipment.
Do not ask the contractor to guarantee the G700’s vehicle-side limit. That comes from the exact vehicle documentation. Conversely, do not ask the dealer to certify an unseen building circuit. The useful decision exists only when both sets of evidence agree.
Common failure modes and limits
- Old or loose outlet contacts: a plug can fit while the connection heats under a sustained load.
- Shared circuit: other appliances can change the load and trip or overheat an unsuitable circuit.
- Adapter chain: a travel adapter, extension reel or multi-plug creates extra contacts and hides the original equipment rating.
- Wrong market document: a China, Qatar or global brochure is not proof of the UAE delivery cable, connector or warranty.
- Fast-charging marketing used for AC: an 800 V platform statement does not answer the household AC input question.
- No commissioning record: installation appearance is not evidence that protection and earthing tests passed.
Practical next step
Before the G700 arrives, request the UAE manual pages and a photo of the supplied EVSE label from the dealer. Then arrange a site survey using the written charging load, not an assumed 13 A figure. If the evidence is incomplete, budget and plan around a compliant Mode 3 installation or verified public charging instead of building the purchase decision around an unverified household outlet.
For adjacent decisions, see the UAE no-home-charging decision method, the Leopard/DENZA charging framework and the market-specific charger verification example. Those pages do not prove G700 compatibility; they show how to separate vehicle evidence from site evidence.
Method and evidence limits
This page started with a real UAE pre-delivery question. Automation was limited to UAE GSC query-to-page filtering, three-page overlap screening and technical checks. Autosupp then checked the body, title, meta description, FAQ schema and link claims field by field against the current Jetour UAE page and DEWA primary sources. No G700 was charged, no outlet was inspected and no portable cable was tested. GSC returned no reportable rows for the ten exact and five broader query filters in the two reviewed 28-day windows; that is an owner-gap check, not proof of zero demand.
Frequently asked questions
Can I charge a Jetour G700 from a three-pin plug every day?
Do not assume so from the plug shape. Use it only when the UAE vehicle manual and exact portable EVSE permit it and a qualified electrician has approved the specific outlet and circuit. A dedicated Mode 3 installation is the safer default.
Does Jetour UAE publish the G700 AC charging limit?
The public UAE model page reviewed on 2 October 2026 identifies a plug-in hybrid but does not state the exact AC input limit or approve a household outlet. Request the VIN-specific written specification.
What does DEWA require for installed AC EV charging?
The current technical regulations specify Mode 3 AC EVSE, Type 2, overcurrent protection and a 30 mA auto-recovery class A RCD. The actual site still needs an appropriate design and approval route.
Can I use an extension lead with a portable charger?
Do not build the plan around an extension lead, adapter or multi-plug. DEWA warns that extension cords add overheating, resistance and electrical-fault risks.
What should I get before the G700 is delivered?
Get the UAE manual pages, exact VIN and trim, AC input limit, inlet type, portable-EVSE label and dealer warranty answer, then obtain a written electrical site survey.